Our People


Helping horses through the compassion of people

The AAEP Foundation’s advisory council, officers and board of directors all serve as volunteers.  These groups of dedicated individuals work long hours for no pay in an effort to provide knowledge and direction for the Foundation.  As we like to say, our aim is to Find Answers and Funding Solutions that will allow the Foundation to meet its goals and mission.


Foundation Advisory Council 

Jeffrey T. Berk, VMD - Chairman
G. Kent Carter, DVM, DACVIM - Board Liaison
Jeff A. Blea, DVM
Anthony Blikslager, DVM, PhD, DACVS 
Duane E. Chappell, DVM
Jack Easley, DVM, MS
Leslie A. Easterwood, DVM
Amy L. Grice, VMD
Ernest H. Martinez, II, DVM
Montgomery D. McInturff, DVM
Elizabeth Metcalf, DVM, MS, DACT
Richard D. Mitchell, DVM
Jacqueline S. Shellow, DVM, MS
Tracy A. Turner, DVM
Susan L. White, DVM, DACVIM


Kathleen M. Anderson, DVM - President
R. Reynolds Cowles, Jr., DVM - President-Elect
Margo Macpherson - Vice President
G. Kent Carter, DVM, DACVIM - Immediate Past President
Jack Easley, DVM, MS - Treasurer


Board of Directors 

Mark R. Baus, DVM
Stuart E. Brown, II, DVM
Robert Franklin, DVM, DACVIM
Vivian Freer, DVM
Katherine Garrett, DVM, DACVS
Amy L. Grice, VMD
Daniel P. Keenan, DVM


Foundation Staff

Our staff is committed and compassionate because, like our supporters, we are horse lovers, too. We support the mission to improve the welfare of horses, and we deeply appreciate those who do the same whether it be through a donation of time or money.  We look forward to helping you meet your goal of Helping Us Help Horses!


Pam Shook
Programs Coordinator


Jodie Bingham
Development Coordinator


Keith Kleine
Director of Industry Relations










Follow Us:

American Association of Equine Practitioners Foundation
4033 Iron Works Parkway
Lexington, KY 40511


(859) 233-0147 (Phone)
(859) 233-1968 (Fax)